The Saint-Gaudens Medal was established in 1988 and is awarded from time to time to “such persons who, by their talents and beneficence, have made a distinguished contribution to the arts in America in the high tradition of Augustus Saint-Gaudens.” Our practice is to award the medal to those whose efforts have added to our knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of Saint-Gaudens and the Cornish Colony.

The Saint-Gaudens Medal has been given 11 times in the past 32 years. The Medal pictured above was designed in 1992 by the late Robert W. White. Bobby White was an artist, a long-time Trustee of the Memorial, and grandson of the architect Stanford White who was a frequent collaborator with Saint-Gaudens.

1990 Lincoln Kirstein, author and arts advocate
1992 Walker Hancock, sculptor
1994 Charles A Platt, architect and artist
1994 Burke Wilkinson, author
1997 Robert W. White, sculptor
1998 Eric Lagercrantz, donor
2000 Rosamond Putnam, arts advocate
2005 Earl A. Powell, III, Director, National Gallery of Art
2014 James B. Atkinson, historian and author
2016 David McCullough, historian and author
2019 Dartmouth College Library