Rachel Hayes - There will come soft light

Rachel Hayes "There Will Come Soft Light"

The Saint-Gaudens Fellowship is an annual award presented to an emerging American artist. The policy of the committee is to award the Fellowship to artists who are practicing primarily in the United States and have a demonstrated exhibition record that shows them to possess exceptional talent, but who are not yet firmly established in the field and may benefit from the recognition and financial assistance that accompany the Fellowship. The artists are selected by a committee consisting of trustees and artist advisors, including past fellows.

In addition to receiving a monetary grant, the fellows exhibit  representative examples of their work in the following year at the Saint-Gaudens National Historical Park in Cornish, New Hampshire.

It was the intention of the Fellowship when it was created that the Fellows’ Memorial-sponsored exhibitions be relevant to the ideals of Saint-Gaudens as an artistically innovative artist, a mentor to emerging artists, and to the enhancement of public interest in his life, work, and the creative process.

Fellows of the Saint-Gaudens Memorial

2021 Courtney Leonard
2020 No Fellowship Awarded
2019 Jennifer Paige Cohen
2018 Ruby Sky Stiler
2017 Fabienne Lasserre
2016 Katie Bell
2015 Shellburne Thurber*
2014 Kirsten Hassenfield
2013 Jane Marsching
2012 Elana Herzog
2011 Darren Blackstone Foote
2010 Mary Temple
2009 Rachel Hayes
2008 Claire Watkins
2007 Alyson Shotz
2006 Ann Carlson & Mary Ellen Strom
2005 Hirsch Perlman
2004 No Fellowship Awarded
2003 Tara Donovan
2002 Willie Cole
2001 Do Ho Suh

2000 Peter Shelton
1999 Carlos Dorrien
1998 Amy Hauft
1997 Alison Saar
1996 Judy Pfaff
1995 Jon Kessler
1994 Win Knowlton
1993 Judith Shea
1992 Jene Highstein
1991 No Fellowship Awarded
1990 Cameron McNall, Susan Rodgers
1989 Kate Ericson & Mel Ziegler
1988 Michael Gitlin
1987 Petah Coyne
1986 Andrew Topolski
1985 No Fellowship Awarded
1984 Walter Dusenbery, James M. Wolfe
1983 Alex McFarlane
1982 No Fellowship Awarded
1981 Nicholas B. Edmunds
1980 Philip Livingston
1979 Edwin Rothfarb
1978 Daniel Sinclair

*This was a special Fellowship for which the Trustees invited Ms. Thurber to create an exhibition of photographs to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the Saint-Gaudens National Historical Park.